Things to do in September with Connect2Culture

Emily Frankoski shows us some of the different events happening around Joplin this coming month.

As we make our way into the fall and look for things to break up our weeknights and weekends, Emily Frankoski with Connect2Culture shows us some of the different events, exhibits, classes, and performances to check out in the month of September.

Scroll down to see more information and things to do!

 

PERFORMANCES:

Dance Monkey Dance at Bookhouse Cinema

Thursday, September 25 | 7:30–9:30pm

At Bookhouse Cinema (715 E Broadway St)

Tickets: $5 More information: Holly Crane, bookhousejoplin@gmail.com, 417.825.5161

 

EVENTS:

Cuban Dinner Party

Tuesday, September 1 | 5:00pm

At Bookhouse Cinema (715 E Broadway St)

Free and open to the public; food and drinks available for purchase. More information: Chad Stebbins, stebbins-c@mssu.edu, 417.625.9736

 

Prairie Day Online

Wednesday, September 5–Wednesday, September 12

On George Washington Carver National Monument’s Facebook and Twitter

Free and open to the public More information: Sarah Martin, GWCA_Interpretation@nps.gov, 417.325.4151

 

Virtual Joplin Arts Fest

Friday, September 18, Noon–Monday, September 21, Noon Online at joplinartsfest.com

Free and open to the public More information: Steve Doerr, sdoerr48@gmail.com, 417.529.3730

 

EXHIBITS:

Sullivan Book Arts Display

September 18–October 31, 2020

At Post Art Library (1901 E 20th St)

Free and open to the public More information: Jill Sullivan, jhsullivan@postartlibrary.org, 417.623.7953 X1041

 

On an Island by Nadia Huggins

September 2–23, 2020

At Missouri Southern State University, Spiva Art Gallery (3950 E Newman Rd) Free and open to the public More information: Dr. Christine Bentley, bentley-c@mssu.edu, 417.625.9563

 

CLASSES:

Habitats: A Look at the Prairie Frontier

Wednesday, September 9 | 2:00–3:00pm

Online

Free and open to the public Reservations required; register at mdc.mo.gov

More information: Kim Banner, Kimberly.Banner@mdc.mo.gov, 417.629.3434

 

Campfire Cooking

Saturday, September 12 | 6:00–7:00pm

At Wildcat Glades Pavilion (201 Riviera Dr)

Free and open to the public Registration required; register via Facebook page or email lauren@wildcatglades.org

More information: Robin Standridge, robin@wildcatglades.org, 417.708.7713