Ten nonprofits to share $1.49 Million in TBRA

Ten non-profits and public housing authorities will share approximately $1.49 million in Tenant Based Rental Assistance (TBRA) to help Kansas families obtain safe, affordable housing of their choice. Funded through the federal HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) and administered by Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC), TBRA helps income-eligible households afford rental subsidies, utility deposits and security deposits.

“The awards announced today will help struggling families move out of homelessness and into self-sufficiency,” said Christine Reimler, HOME Division Director. “Without a home, everything is harder. This assistance will help people get back on their feet,” said Reimler.

Awarded annually, TBRA grants are based on a community’s housing needs, the number of households estimated to be served and the organization’s experience in administering TBRA funding. Public housing authorities and non-profit organizations may apply for grants of up to $300,000.

HOME TBRA differs from other types of HOME rental housing activities in two key ways:
TBRA programs utilize HOME funds to help individual households rather than subsidizing new affordable rental projects.
TBRA assistance varies based on the size and income of the household, and the rent standard.
The recipients of this year’s TBRA awards are as follows:

Bert Nash CMHC/Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority
Eric Sader
City of Lawrence & Douglas County

City of Ellsworth
DeAnne Hoch
City of Ellsworth & Ellsworth County

Harvest America Corporation
Terri Bookless
Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearney, Kiowa, Lane, Meade, Morton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Seward, Scott, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, and Wichita Counties

City of Independence, Kansas
Molly Wright
City of Independence

Northeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.
Kristy Morey
Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Marshall, and Nemaha Counties

Northwest Kansas Housing, Inc.
Loyce Schamberger
Cheyenne, Decatur, Ellis, Gove, Graham, Logan, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Russell, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Trego, and Wallace Counties

Salina Housing Authority
Nichole Carney
785-827-0441 x 209
City of Salina

Southeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.
Janet Swor
Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson Counties

Southwest Guidance Center
Nate Miller
Meade, Haskell, Seward, and Stevens Counties

Wyandot Center BHC
Shevella Gatson
Wyandotte County