Ten Gorillas Earn All-Region Honors from Don Hansen Football Committee

Press Release PSU:

Ten members of the Pittsburg State University football team earned All-Super Region Three honors from the Don Hansen Football Committee Wednesday (Dec. 10).

Senior quarterback Anthony Abenoja led six Gorillas who garnered first-team All-Super Region Three recogition. Abenoja, who passed for 3,871 yards and 32 touchdowns on the season, was named the Super Region Three Offensive Player of the Year. He was joined on the first-team squad by junior all-purpose back Marquis Cushon, senior wide receiver Gavin Lutman, senior offensive guard Tyler Smith, senior place kicker Connor Frazell and senior cornerback De’Vante Bausby.

Sophomore defensive end Heath Wilson and senior safety Keeston Terry garnered second-team All-Super Region Three accolades, while sophomore linebacker Spencer Brown and junior nose guard Taye Irvin received third-team All-Super Region Three honors.

The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2014 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team will be named in January.

Abenoja (6-3, 217), one of nine national finalist for the 2014 Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II College Football Player of the Year, completed 263 of 432 passes for 3,871 yards and 32 TDs on the season. The Overland Park, Kan., native also rushed for 65 net yards and three scores. He set a Division II record for consecutive passes without an interception (314) in a 13-game span between Oct. 19, 2013 and Oct. 18, 2014.

Cushon (5-10, 162), from Kansas City, Mo., caught 69 passes for an MIAA-leading 1301 yards and eight touchdowns. He also carried the ball 23 times for 242 yards and one touchdown. Cushon averaged 10.0 yards per punt return 25.9 yards per kickoff return to finish the season with 2,127 all-purpose yards (163.6 ypg).

Lutman (6-4, 201) caught a team-leading 70 passes for 1196 yards (17.1 ypc) and 13 touchdowns on the season. The Peculiar, Mo., native set a new MIAA single-game record with 10 catches for 268 and four touchdowns against Emporia State on Oct. 11.

Smith (6-4, 287), an unanimous first-team All-MIAA selection, helped pave the way up front for the Gorillas, who averaged 35.5 points and 458.7 total yards per game. The Sand Springs, Okla., native started 42 career games for the Gorillas.

Frazell (5-10, 183), from Iola, Kan., connected on 21 of 30 field goals on the season. He also booted all 55 of his PAT attempts, scoring a team-leading 118 points. Frazell was named the MIAA Special Teams Player of the Year.

Bausby (6-2, 179) made 47 tackles (29 solo) with 2.5 tackles-for-loss and 1.5 quarterback sacks. The Kansas City, Mo., native added four interceptions and nine pass break-ups on the season.

Wilson (6-4, 237), from Wagoner, Okla., made 48 tackles (13 solo) with 11.0 tackles-for-loss and 6.0 quarterback sacks, while Terry (6-3, 203), from Blue Springs, Mo., posted 85 tackles (44 solo) with 8.0 TFLs, 2.0 quarterback sacks and four pass break-ups.

Brown (6-0, 206), from Lee’s Summit, Mo., made a team-leading 101 tackles (35 solo) with 10.0 TFLs and 1.0 quarterback sack, while Irvin (6-1, 339) from LaGrange, Ga., posted 34 tackles (11 solo) with 9.0 TFLs, 1.5 quarterback sacks and two forced fumbles.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

Minnesota State defensive end Josh Rodgers was selected the Defensive Player of the Year. Ouachita Baptist return specialist Etuaj Allen garnered Special Teams Player of the Year honors, while Western Oregon all-purpose back Paul Revis received Freshman of the Year recognition. Minnesota State head coach Todd Hoffner, who has guided the Mavericks to a 13-0 record and a berth in the NCAA Division II national semifinals this Saturday (Dec. 13), was named the Super Region Three Coach of the Year.