Seventy-three Joplin teachers to be honored at reception March 4


Golden Apple Nominees Announced

Seventy-three Joplin teachers to be honored at reception March 4

Feb. 26, 2014

JOPLIN – Seventy-three Joplin educators were nominated for the 29th Annual Golden Apple Awards, presented by the Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce, The Empire District Electric Company and Missouri Southern State University. The Golden Apple Awards recognize excellence in the teaching profession and inform the public of the exceptional quality of instruction in the Joplin community.

These individuals were nominated by students, parents and peers in the Joplin public and private schools. All nominees and the individuals who nominated them will be honored at a reception March 4 at 6 p.m. in the Holiday Inn Hotel Ballroom. Judging will take place over the next two months, and the awardees will be announced at the JACC Annual Banquet May 1.

The nominees are:

Kindergarten-2nd Grade

Kolette Bartley, Kelsey Norman Elementary

Monica Bay, Jefferson Elementary

Chelsie Brooks, Royal Heights Elementary

Laura Campbell, Eastmorland Elementary

Karen Drake, St. Mary’s Elementary

Michele Dunker, Thomas Jefferson IDS

Kyleigh Garrett, Eastmorland Elementary

Angela Graves, Columbia Elementary

Stacie Hayes, Eastmorland Elementary

Cyndi Hilsabeck, St. Mary’s Elementary

Jessica Hilton, Soaring Heights Elementary

Wendee Hughes, McKinley Elementary

Amy Jones, Eastmorland Elementary

Joanne Lown, Thomas Jefferson IDS

Chelsea Marshall, Royal Heights Elementary

Susan Moore, Irving Elementary

Stephanie Reither, Cecil Floyd Elementary

Stacie Saunders, Stapleton Elementary

Bette Schoeberl, St. Mary’s Elementary

Heather Shull, Jefferson Elementary

Mary Sloan, Royal Heights Elementary

Billie Stanley, Royal Heights Elementary

Karla Theilen, Cecil Floyd Elementary

Elaina Watkins, Stapleton Elementary

Kim Wood, Jefferson Elementary

3rd-5th Grade

Aimee Allen, Kelsey Norman Elementary

Mary Arnold, Thomas Jefferson IDS

Lanette Ball, Jefferson Elementary

Jan Bradshaw, Thomas Jefferson IDS

Wes Brownfield, Stapleton Elementary

Matt Crane, Royal Heights Elementary

Sherry Crumbliss, Soaring Heights Elementary

Ginger Gibson, Royal Heights Elementary

Kimberly Grigery, Jefferson Elementary

Tim Gubera, Eastmorland Elementary

Dianne Hermann, Jefferson Elementary

Sara Jackson, Royal Heights Elementary

Laura John, Jefferson Elementary

Carrie Knight, Royal Heights Elementary

Cherie Kuklentz, Royal Heights Elementary

Stacey Kunce, Jefferson Elementary

Katie Land, Stapleton Elementary

Julie Leone, St. Mary’s Elementary

Emily Lone, St. Mary’s Elementary

Katie Moore, Royal Heights Elementary

Emily Mullins, Royal Heights Elementary

Kelsie Nguyen, Eastmorland Elementary

Kelly Painter, McKinley Elementary

Karen Robertson, Stapleton Elementary

Stacie Short, Jefferson Elementary

Sally Spiekermann, Eastmorland Elementary

Debi Staton, St. Mary’s Elementary

Megan Wallace, Jefferson Elementary

Kristina Warden, Stapleton Elementary

Katherine Woods, Royal Heights Elementary

Ashley Wright, McKinley Elementary

6th-8th Grade

John Atteberry, Thomas Jefferson IDS

Karen Cameron, South Middle School

Jason Cryer, North Middle School

Fei Gao, Thomas Jefferson IDS

Nancy Ohmart, College Heights Christian School

Chad Ruddick, North Middle School

Rory Stadt, South Middle School

9th-12th Grade

Clayton Carnahan, Thomas Jefferson IDS

George Cowin, Joplin High School

Jeff Hafer, Joplin High School

Kelly Pyle, Joplin High School

Kathleen Reiboldt, Joplin High School

Kevin Sawyer, Joplin High School

Kaara Schrader, McAuley High School

Bethany Shultz, Joplin High School

Amanda Smith, Joplin High School

Brandon Taute, Joplin High School

# # #