Pitt State’s Lozoya named to Bevo Francis Award watchlist

Lozoya is the MIAA's leading scorer (25.5 ppg)
Pitt State’s Lozoya named to Bevo Francis Award watchlist


Pittsburg State University senior guard Grant Lozoya has been named to the Small College Basketball Top 100 Watch List for the 2018-19 Bevo Francis Award.

The Bevo Francis Award honors the top men’s basketball player competing in the affiliations of NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA.

Lozoya (Agoura Hills, Calif.) is averaging 25.5 points, 6.5 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game to date. He leads the MIAA and currently ranks fifth in NCAA Division II in scoring.

Lozoya is joined by four other MIAA players on the watch list: sophomore forward Ryan Hawkins, redshirt freshman guard Trevor Hudgins and senior guard Joey Witthus of Northwest Missouri State University and sophomore forward Cam Martin of Missouri Southern State University.

“This was an extremely difficult process, and I am very thankful to our committee for their input and feedback on many players throughout the country,” said Small College Basketball Founder John McCarty. “When we look out over the landscape of small college basketball, we’re trying to find the best of the best, based on our criteria, out of about 1,100 – 1,200 colleges and universities.

“As such, it’s a real honor to be included on this prestigious list. Each of the players on this list is in the midst of a heck of a season, and I congratulate each and every one of them.”

Members of the Bevo Francis Award committee include the following coaches: Tobin Anderson – St. Thomas Aquinas (N.Y.), Gerald Holmes – Bloomfield (N.J.), Gary Stewart – Stevenson (Md.), Arlen Galloway – Wentworth (Mass.), Chris Briggs – Georgetown (Ky.), Bill Dreikosen – Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Klint Pleasant – Rochester (Mich.), Ryan Kane – Ripon (Wisc.), Mark Berokoff – Hillsdale Baptist (Okla.), Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern, Rhett Soliday – Vanguard (Calif.), Sam Hargraves – Alma (Mich.), Greg Mason – Centre (Ky.) and Ryan Looney – Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.).

The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

On February 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on April 6.

The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 8. The award will be presented to the award winner on May 11 at the SCB National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association’s Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Kansas City, Missouri.

This marks the fourth season of the Bevo Francis Award, as the award was previously given to Dominez Burnett of Davenport (Mich.) in 2016, Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri State in 2017 and Emanuel Terry of Lincoln Memorial in 2018.