Pitt State ranked #1 in NCBA preseason poll

PSU was the national runner-up in 2018
Pitt State ranked #1 in NCBA preseason poll

The Pittsburg State club baseball team is ranked #1 in the country for the first time in program history.

Last season the Gorillas won the Great American South conference title and earned a spot in the NCBA Division II World Series, where the finished as the national runner-up.

“Starting the season ranked #1 is awesome,” says Webb City product Drew Roy, who is the President and DH for the team, “It just shows how much work has been put in by guys who are literally paying to play.”

The Pitt State roster (below) is made up of mostly local players, with 16 of 19 guys coming from the 4-state area. The program was started in 2016 by St.Mary’s Colgan (Pittsburg) graduates Nate Grimaldi and VJ Piccini, who have both graduated since.

While the team did lose some leadership from last season, Roy believes this year’s team has a chance to be just as good as the 2018 World Series team.

“I think we’re very talented,” Roy says, “I think our starting pitching is as good as anybody in the country, and we get on base a lot. That will put a lot of pressure on our opponents.”

The Gorillas will open up their season this weekend with a three game series at home against Missouri State, beginning Saturday at 1:00 pm. (click HERE for complete schedule) The team is excited to begin the season ranked as the #1 team in the nation, but they also know that with the #1 ranking, comes a little pressure.

“I think it definitely puts a target on our backs,” Roy adds, “but it also reminds the guys that we have to come in and get our work done every day. The NCBA has big expectations for us. We don’t want to be the team that falls short of that #1 ranking.”

President: #9 Drew Roy – JR – LF/2B – Webb City (MO) HS

Vice President: #24 Luten Warrick – JR – P – Frontenac (KS) HS

Captain: #11 Simon Higginbotham – SO – C – St. Mary’s Colgan (KS) HS

Associate Captain: #5 Levi Kemp – SO – CF – Independence (KS) HS

Treasurer: #16 Ryan Long – SO – P/UT – Frontenac (KS) HS

Secretary: #7 Peyton Brown – FR – C/OF/1B – Frontenac (KS)

#23 Jordan Miller – 5SR – 1B/3B/P – Bishop Carrol (KS) HS

#3 Kealin Smith – 5SR – P – Joplin (MO) HS

#21 John Barrows – SR – OF – Frontenac (KS) HS

#13 Bailey Gardner – SR – P/IF – Spring Hill (KS) HS

#6 Johnny Maturino – SR – 2B – Joplin (MO) HS

#19 Sam Grant – JR – P/1B – Rose Hill (KS) HS

#1 Dack Sanborn – JR – SS – Webb City (MO) HS

#4 Colan Snodgrass – SO – 1B – Independence (KS) HS

#52 Dominic Piccini – SO – OF – St. Mary’s Colgan (KS) HS

#12 Tucker Whitworth – FR – P/2B – Burlington (KS) HS

#8 Cal Bloomfield – FR – 3B/P – Independence (KS) HS

#17 Dawson Fenix – FR – C/2B – Carl Junction (MO) HS

#15 Cordell Bass – FR – P – Columbus (KS) HS