NEO Students gather at State Capitol for Higher Education Day


Students gather at State Capitol for Higher Education Day

Miami, Oklahoma – Thursday, Feb. 13, 2014 – Officers from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College’s (NEO), student body government team met with representatives at the State Capitol on Tuesday for Higher Education Day. The event promoted the value and importance of higher education in Oklahoma.

NEO sophomore Lauren Crudup was hand selected to speak on the floor, and she challenged legislators to put education as a top priority.

In her speech Crudup said, “My simple request here today is for the Governor and the legislature to work together to fully fund our public colleges and universities. I can promise you it will be an investment you’ll never regret.”

Crudup emphasized the power of education, but how higher education’s funding is not sufficient even though the state’s economy has recovered. The state’s budget is larger today than it has ever been before, but the fact remains that the higher education’s budget has not fully recovered.

While at NEO, Crudup has been involved in Student Body Government and Agriculture Ambassadors. She also serves as the president of the agriculture club on campus. She is currently receiving an agriculture degree from NEO. Upon graduation, she plans on transferring to East Central University in the fall to obtain a legal studies degree. Following the completion of her bachelor’s degree, she hopes to continue pursuing higher education by attending law school at the University of Oklahoma.

During Higher Education Day, NEO students toured the capitol and spoke with several members of the legislature, including Rep. Larry Glenn, Rep. Doug Cox, Rep. Rousselot, Rep. Shaw, Sen. Wyrick, and Chacellor Johnson.

The group from NEO included:

Dr. Jeff Hale, NEO president
Amy Ishmael, vice president for student affairs
Shannon Cunningham, assistant vice president of academic affairs Jake Swicegood, president
Tandy Kidd, vice president
James Warren, treasurer
Lindsay Tasos, secretary Lauren Crudup, senator-at-large Hunter Rhodes, senator-at-large Trae Wilkins, parliamentarian Brooke West, reporter Dylan Conley, sophomore rep.

# # #