NEO College adds a indoor multipurpose arena for equestrian team

Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College equestrian team looks forward to competing at home.
The team welcomed Missouri State University today for face-off before more than 100 riders fill the arena in October.
NEO added the sport to the athletic program last year, before the indoor multipurpose arena the team made other arrangements for practices and traveled to events.
Athletes believe the facility will give them a advantage when competing.
“Its great to have a facility like this because were able to practice ourselves at the school twice a week and able to bring in our horses people donate to us,” said Sophomore Athlete Caitlin Dunsmore.

Miami, Oklahoma – Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2013 – Equestrian teams from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) and Missouri State University (MSU) are scheduled to compete in a practice head-to-head competition Sunday, Sept. 15 at 1 p.m. at NEO’s indoor, multipurpose arena. The show is open to the public.”We are excited about hosting MSU. We traveled there last spring for a practice show and had great success,” said NEO Head Coach Chelsie Huseman. “We are looking forward to hosting them at our facility to get the equestrian season started. It’s a great opportunity to get our feet wet for our first official IHSA (Intercollegiate Horse Show Association) show in October.”
NEO boasts a 26 member team this year with three riders in the beginner category, 12 intermediate II riders, four novice riders, six advanced riders, and one open rider. The lone returning open rider is Mandie House who was one of three qualifiers for regionals last year.
NEO will officially start the IHSA season at Truman State University on Saturday, Sept. 28 and Sunday, Sept. 29. Based on their performance, 20-25 riders from NEO will be traveling to Kirksville, Mo. to kick off the season.
For their very first time, NEO will be hosting an official IHSA equestrian show on Saturday, Oct. 26 at 11 a.m. The competition will host colleges such as Missouri State University, Truman State University, Blackhawk College, Illinois State University, Southern Illinois University, and Northern Illinois University.
More than 100 riders will attend the competition and will all be competing for first place in their respective division.