MSSU picked 6th in MIAA preseason poll

The Lions received 1 first place vote
MSSU picked 6th in MIAA preseason poll


The Missouri Southern baseball team has been picked to finish sixth in the MIAA Preseason Coaches Poll, the league announced today.

The Lions finished 27-23 a season ago and were ninth in the final MIAA standings. Southern returns 13 position players and ten pitchers from a season ago, including seniors Alex Phillips , Denver Coffee and Mike Million in the field, as well as starters Jared Flores and Zac Shoemaker in the starting rotation. Returning to the mound are pitchers Logan VanWey , Corey Cowan , Joey Reeves , Brennon Covington , Will Bausinger , River Wright , Bradly Hershey and Cam Bednar .

Returning position players also include Joe Kinder , Easton Fortuna , Garan Stevens , Jon Leighton , Alex Wheeler , Evan Cheng , Richard Fullerton , Kaleb Baker , Ryan Hinkley and Dan Lenz . Phillips, Shoemaker, VanWey, Coffee and Million were all named All-MIAA in 2018.

Additions to the fold include Zach Parish , a junior left handed pitcher who was the MIAA Freshman of the Year in 2016 and transferred last season from Northeastern State. Parrish led the league in strike outs as a freshman. Colin Chandler also returns after sitting out 2018 with an injury. The Lions bring in 15 newcomers in total that should bolster the roster.

Central Missouri was picked to win the MIAA with six of the possible 11 first-place votes. Central Oklahoma was second with three first-place votes and Pittsburg State was third with two first-place votes. Missouri Western was picked fourth followed by Emporia State, the Lions (one first-place vote), Lindenwood, Northwest Missouri, Northeastern State, Washburn, Southwest Baptist and Fort Hays State.

The Lions open the 2019 season tomorrow, playing against Southwestern Oklahoma in Edmond, Okla. at 7 pm. The complete MIAA Preseason Poll is listed below.

2019 MIAA Preseason Baseball Poll
1. Central Missouri (6) – 115 points
2.Central Oklahoma (3) – 107 points
3.Pittsburg State (2) – 102 points
4.Missouri Western – 81 points
5.Emporia State – 80 points
6.Missouri Southern (1) – 67 points
T-7Lindenwood – 60 points
T-7Northwest Missouri – 60 points
9.Northeastern State – 38 points
10. Washburn – 34 points
11. Southwest Baptist – 26 points
12. Fort Hays State – 23 points
*Coaches cannot vote for their own team