MSSU Football Puts 7 on All-MIAA List

MSSU Football Puts 7 on All-MIAA List


Kansas City, Mo. — The Missouri Southern football team has had seven players named to the All-MIAA team as the league announced its post season awards today.

All seven earned Honorable Mention All-MIAA status.

Senior Will Gregory was a pick at running back as the Compton, Calif. native gained 775 yards on 170 carries this year for the Lions. He had six touchdowns and averaged 4.6 yards per carry.

Junior Chad Nolan and freshman Carson Day were picked at wide receiver. Nolan, a San Marcos, Calif. native led the Lions this year with six receiving touchdowns. He had 438 yards on the year on 22 receptions and averaged 19.2 yards per catch. Day, a native of Marietta, Ga. finished with 359 yards on 32 receptions this year as a true freshman. He averaged 11.2 yards per catch.

Senior Austin Minor, a Baxter Springs, Kan. native, served as the team’s long snapper this season. He helped set up a field goal unit that went 28-28 in extra point attempts this year, as well as 8-15 in field goal attempts. The Missouri Southern punting crew averaged 38.5 yards a punt this year with a long of 59 yards. They had 18 called for a fair catch and 19 inside the 20-yard line.

Senior linebacker Kyjuan Tate, a Chicago native, led the Lions with 105 tackles this season. He had 2.5 sacks and an interception, while making seven stops behind the line of scrimmage for a loss of 22 yards. He ranked 40th nationally this season in total tackles.

Junior defensive backs Ricky Green (Mayersville, Miss.) and Johnquavious McBride (Lithonia, Ga.). also earned honors this year. McBride ranked second on the team this year with 98 tackles, including 1.5 for a loss, three interceptions, seven pass break u ps and two fumble recoveries. He ranked 23rd nationally in solo tackles and 31st in fumbles recovered.

Green led the Lions with four interceptions on the season, while ranking fourth on the team with 57 tackles. He also added ten pass break ups and a blocked kick. This season, Green ranked 24th nationally in passes defended and 41st in interceptions. He ranked fourth and fifth, respectively, in the MIAA in those categories.

Emporia State quarterback Brent Wilson was the MIAA Offensive Player of the Year, while Northwest Missouri’s Collin Bevins and Lindenwood’s Connor Harris were the Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Northwest Missouri place kicker Simon Mathiesen was the Special Teams Player of the Year, while Bearcat wide receiver Shawn Bane Jr. was the Freshman of the Year. Northwest Missouri’s Adam Dorrel was the MIAA Coach of the Year. A complete list of all of the MIAA post season awards can be found by clicking in the story links.