MIAA announces 2015 Hall of Fame class

Pittsburg State claims MIAA Touranment title

Press Release MIAA:

Ten Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association legends have been elected to the MIAA Hall of Fame Class of 2015, the conference office announced today. It was also announced that the 2011 Pittsburg State National Champion Football Team will be inducted as the first member of the 2016 class during the 2016 MIAA Basketball Tournament.

This year’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on June 3, 2015 at the
Kansas City Public Library – Plaza Branch, 4801 Main Street in Kansas City, Mo. The event will be held in the Truman Forum Auditorium. Reservations for the event are available by visiting www.themiaa.com/sb_output.aspx?form=4 and filling out the form. Reservations will be given out on a first come, first served basis.

Below are the bios for the 2015 Hall of Fame class.

Kim Anderson, Basketball Coach
Central Missouri, 2002-14
In 12 seasons at UCM, Anderson compiled a 274-95 (.743) record and became the winningest coach in Mules basketball history. He led the Mules to six MIAA Regular Season Championships, including each of his final three seasons, four MIAA Tournament titles and the 2014 National Championship.

Kristin (Anderson) Swisher, Track and Field Athlete
Central Missouri, 2001-06
Swisher was a two-time National Champion winning the 2005 steeplechase and the 2006 indoor 5,000 meters. She was a six-time All-American and 25-time All-MIAA performer. She was the 2006 MIAA Ken B. Jones Award winner as the conference’s top female student-athlete and the Division II Female Student-Athlete of the Year.

Leslie (Dudley) Morrow, Women’s Basketball Athlete
Pittsburg State, 1997-2000
Morrow earned NCAA Division II All-America honors in each of the final three seasons of her decorated career. Morrow set the school’s all-time scoring record with 2,046 points. She was the 2000 MIAA Ken B. Jones Award Winner.

Kathy (Kearns) Behounek, Cross Country/Track and Field Athlete
Northwest Missouri, 1996-97
Behounek was a two-time All-America cross country performer in both 1996 and 1997. She won the 1996 MIAA Championship in cross country and was a six-time conference champion in track and field. In 1998, she was the State of Missouri NCAA Woman of the Year.

Tony Miles, Football Athlete
Northwest Missouri, 1997-2000
A two-time All-America wide receiver/kick returner and three-time First-Team All-MIAA pick, Miles was a key figure in the Bearcats back-to-back National Championships in 1998 and 1999.

Darla (Curp) Moberly, Cross Country and Track and Field Athlete
Central Missouri, 1982-86
Moberly was an eight-time All-American in track and cross country and won the first national title in Jennies’ track & field history when she won the outdoor 3,000 meters in 1986. She still holds the Walton Stadium records for the outdoor 3,000 and 5,000 meter runs.

Danny Powers, Baseball Athlete
Central Missouri, 2003-05
Powers was the 2005 National, Regional and MIAA Pitcher of the Year. A two-time All-MIAA selection, he was also named to the Central Region All-Tournament team three times, including MVP of the regional as a senior.

Clint Prange, Track and Field Athlete
Northwest Missouri, 2002-06
Prange was a six time All-American at the national track and field meet. He was a three-time discus national champion and won the outdoor shot put title in 2005. During the 2005 shot put, Prange recorded a throw measuring 66-feet, 1-inch – a mark that still stands as an NCAA Division II national record. Prange was honored by the MIAA as the recipient of the 2005 Ken B. Jones Award.

Tom Rutledge, Men’s Track and Field & Cross Country Coach
Missouri Southern, 1988-2013
In 24 years at MSSU, Tom Rutledge led the Lions to eight MIAA cross country championships and two MIAA Indoor Track & Field championships He led his men’s cross country team to a sixth place national finish in 2000, seventh place in 2002 and an eighth place finish in 2013.

Brian Shay, Football Athlete
Emporia State, 1995-99
A three-time All-American and the 1998 Harlon Hill Trophy winner as the top player in Division II, Shay ended his career as the all-time leading rusher in all levels of collegiate football. He gained a then record 6,958 yards in just 44 games and had 9,301 all-purpose yards. He set 17 NCAA Division II records and five all-division records during his ESU career.

Full bios will be available online following their induction into the MIAA Hall of Fame at the June 3 event.