Kansas City named as a FIFA World Cup 2026™ host city

Kansas City named as a FIFA World Cup 2026™ host city
KOAM Image

KANSAS CITY – Kansas City is named as a host city for the FIFA World Cup 2026.

FIFA unveiled the list of host cities today. In Kansas City, people celebrated the announcement during a watch part. FIFA made the announcement on live TV from New York.

16 cities host matches of the FIFA World Cup. FIFA World Cup 2026 will be the first edition to feature 48 teams and three host countries (Canada, Mexico and the USA). That’s according to a media release from FIFA.


The FIFA World Cup 2026 Host Cities are as follows, in alphabetical order:

  • Atlanta

  • Boston

  • Dallas

  • Guadalajara

  • Houston

  • Kansas City

  • Los Angeles/SoFi Stadium

  • Mexico City

  • Miami

  • Monterrey

  • New York/New Jersey

  • Philadelphia

  • San Francisco Bay Area

  • Seattle

  • Toronto

  • Vancouver

“We congratulate the 16 FIFA World Cup Host Cities on their outstanding commitment and passion. Today is a historic day – for everyone in those cities and states, for FIFA, for Canada, the USA and Mexico who will put on the greatest show on Earth. We look forward to working together with them to deliver what will be an unprecedented FIFA World Cup and a game-changer as we strive to make football truly global,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

“We were delighted by the unparalleled competitiveness of this selection process. We are extremely grateful not only to the 16 cities that have been selected, but also to the other six – with whom we look forward to continuing to engage and explore additional opportunities to welcome fans and participating teams. This has always been a FIFA World Cup of three countries, and that undoubtedly will have a tremendous impact on the whole region and the wider football community,” added FIFA Vice President and Concacaf President Victor Montagliani.