Great Kansas Fishing Derby reveals 2022 fishing lakes

Great Kansas Fishing Derby reveals 2022 lake list
KOAM Image

PRATT COUNTY, Kan. – The Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks today announced the fishing lakes for the 2022 Great Kansas Fishing Derby.

According to the KDWP, anglers with a valid fishing license can fish for prizes in the following lakes:

  • Meade State Fishing Lake
  • Horsethief Reservoir
  • Wichita – KDOT East
  • Wichita – KDOT West
  • Sedgwick County Lake Afton
  • Lyon State Fishing Lake
  • Critzer Reservoir
  • Lake Fort Scott
  • Chase State Fishing Lake
  • Butler State Fishing Lake
  • Wellington City Lake
  • Lake Lenexa
  • Lake Olathe
  • Paola – Lake Miola
  • Holton – Banner Creek
  • Leavenworth State Fishing Lake
  • Montgomery State Fishing Lake
  • Barber State Fishing Lake
  • Harvey County East
  • Harvey County West
  • Pratt County Lake
  • Topeka – Lake Shawnee
  • Osage State Fishing Lake
  • Douglas State Fishing Lake
  • Geary State Fishing Lake
  • Herington Reservoir (New)
  • Council Grove City Lake
  • Yates Center Reservoir
  • Gridley City Lake
  • Garnett – North Lake
  • Crawford State Fishing Lake
  • Chanute – Sante Fe Lake
  • Salina – Lakewood
  • Great Bend – Veteran’s Memorial Park
  • Jewell State Fishing Lake
  • Sebelius Reservoir
  • Scott State Fishing Lake
  • Cedar Bluff Reservoir
  • Pottawatomie State Fishing Lake #2
  • Shawnee State Fishing Lake

Cast a Line, Hook a Prize

Introducing the second statewide fishing derby presented by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks. The Derby brings together anglers from across Kansas for friendly competition and prizes, according to the KDWP.

Wardens stocked the lakes above with fish that may contain a specialized tag.

After catching a tagged fish, anglers should redeem the code online, if unable to do so, contact KDWP Sportfishing Education Coordinator, David Breth, at 620-672-5911.

If you would like to learn more about the Great Kansas Fishing Derby, click here.