Federal Flood Assistance Granted To Four More Counties

Federal Flood Assistance Granted to Cherokee Count
Federal Flood Assistance Granted To Four More Counties

Federal disaster assistance has been approved for four more Oklahoma counties affected by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes last month.

Gov. Kevin Stitt said Monday the Federal Emergency Management Agency had added Cherokee, Le Flore, Noble and Nowata counties to a list of 17 other Oklahoma counties previously approved for federal assistance.

Stitt says residents of the counties can apply for financial aid for housing repairs, temporary housing and low-interest loans to repair or replace damaged property.

Heavy rainfall swelled the Arkansas River in May, flooding hundreds of homes and businesses in Oklahoma and Arkansas. Federal disaster assistance has also been approved for a dozen counties in Arkansas.

Stitt says FEMA denied the state’s request for disaster aid for three other counties affected by storms: Beaver, Custer and Seminole counties.