Eight Gorillas Earn All-America Honors from Don Hansen Football Committee

Press Release PSU:

Eight members of the Pittsburg State University football team earned All-America honors from the Don Hansen Football Committee Wednesday (Feb. 11).

Senior quarterback Anthony Abenoja, senior cornerback De’Vante Bausby, junior all-purpose back Marquise Cushon and senior wide receiver Gavin Lutman all earned second-team All-America accolades. Senior placekicker Connor Frazell and senior safety Keeston Terry garnered third-team All-America recognition, while senior offensive guard Tyler Smith and sophomore defensive end Heath Wilson were named to the honorable mention All-America list.

Abenoja (6-3, 217), who finished fourth in balloting for the 2014 Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II College Football Player of the Year, completed 263 of 432 passes for 3,871 yards and 32 TDs on the season. The Overland Park, Kan., native also rushed for 65 net yards and three scores. He set a Division II record for consecutive passes without an interception (314) in a 13-game span between Oct. 19, 2013 and Oct. 18, 2014. He also earned second-team All-America honors from Daktronics.

Bausby (6-2, 179) made 47 tackles (29 solo) with 2.5 tackles-for-loss and 1.5 quarterback sacks. The Kansas City, Mo., native added four interceptions and nine pass break-ups on the season. He also received second-team All-America honors from Daktronics.

Cushon (5-10, 162), from Kansas City, Mo., caught 69 passes for an MIAA-leading 1301 yards and eight touchdowns. He also carried the ball 23 times for 242 yards and one touchdown. Cushon averaged 10.0 yards per punt return 25.9 yards per kickoff return to finish the season with 2,127 all-purpose yards (163.6 ypg). Cushon was a second-team All-America honoree from Daktronics.

Lutman (6-4, 201) caught a team-leading 70 passes for 1196 yards (17.1 ypc) and 13 touchdowns on the season. The Peculiar, Mo., native set a new MIAA single-game record with 10 catches for 268 and four touchdowns against Emporia State on Oct. 11.

Frazell (5-10, 183), from Iola, Kan., connected on 21 of 30 field goals on the season. He also booted all 55 of his PAT attempts, scoring a team-leading 118 points. Frazell was named the MIAA Special Teams Player of the Year.

Terry (6-3, 203), from Blue Springs, Mo., posted 85 tackles (44 solo) with 8.0 TFLs, 2.0 quarterback sacks and four pass break-ups.

Smith (6-4, 287), an unanimous first-team All-MIAA selection, helped pave the way up front for the Gorillas, who averaged 35.5 points and 458.7 total yards per game. The Sand Springs, Okla., native started 42 career games for the Gorillas. He garnered second-team All-America honors from Daktronics.

Wilson (6-4, 237), from Wagoner, Okla., made 48 tackles (13 solo) with 11.0 tackles-for-loss and 6.0 quarterback sacks.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

Ferris State quarterback Jason Vander Laan, the 2014 Harlon Hll Trophy winner, was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while CSU-Pueblo defensive end Darius Allen, the two-time Gene Upshaw Award winner as the Division II Lineman of the Year, was selected the Defensive Player of the Year. Ouachita Baptist return specialist Etuaj Allen garnered Special Teams Player of the Year honors, while Slippery Rock defensive end Marcus Martin received Freshman of the Year recognition. CSU-Pueblo head coach John Wristen, who guided the ThunderWolves to a 14-1 record and the NCAA Division II National Championship, was named the Coach of the Year.