Center opens in Newton County to help Missouri flood survivors

A FEMA Disaster Recovery Center is opening Monday, Feb. 29, in Neosho and will cease operations at noon on Saturday, March 5. Individuals and businesses in any of the 33 Missouri counties included in the Jan. 21, 2016, Missouri federal disaster declaration may find in-person support at the center.
Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and other agencies will be at the center to discuss aid and assist anyone who needs help with an application. The center’s address is:

Newton County EOC
202 W. Brook St.
Neosho, MO 64850
Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: 8:30 a.m. – Noon

Other centers are open in Missouri and survivors may find assistance at any of them. Locations of recovery centers may be found online here.

Enter your zip code in the search box.

There are two main types of federal disaster assistance. FEMA provides grants to qualified individuals for rental assistance, home repairs, or other serious disaster-related losses. SBA makes low-interest disaster loans available to help homeowners, renters, most nonprofits, and businesses of all sizes rebuild and recover. Individuals and businesses are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting a disaster recovery center. Register online here. or by calling toll-free 800-621-3362 (FEMA), 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual registration assistance is available. Survivors may also register using the app for smartphones.

Disaster assistance applicants who are hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) should call 800-621-3362.