Carl Junction’s Scott named COC Player of the Year; Winder earns 1st team All-COC

Katie Scott is the COC girls basketball Player of the Year.
Carl Junction girls win Bill Hanson Memorial Tournament

Carl Junction High School senior Katie Scott is the COC girls basketball Player of the Year.

This award comes after Scott has previously been named the 4SBCA Player of the Year and the Gatorade Missouri girls basketball Player of the Year.

Her teammate Shila Winder has also earned 1st team All-COC honors, while Destiny Buerge has earned Honorable Mention All-COC recognition.

“It definitely means a lot, and it speaks a lot about our program to have girls on the All-COC list consistently,” Scott says, “With Destiny and Shila earning honors as well, it shows how well-rounded our team is, and I’m thankful to be a part of a group that elevates our game.”

Scott led the Bulldogs to a perfect 28-0 season. The Bulldogs were scheduled to play in the Class 4 state semifinals before MSHSAA canceled the remainder of the tournament due to concerns of the spread of COVID-19.

“It means so much to be able to say we were undefeated our senior season,” she adds, “It just shows that all the work we’ve put in over the years paid off. We went undefeated and proved ourselves as much as we could. We believe we were the best team in the state. It’s upsetting to not be able to show it. But we know nobody beat us, so how can you say we’re not state champs?”

The 6-3 senior posted 21.9 points, 11.7 rebounds, 5.2 assists, 3.3 steals and 2.8 blocks per game in the regular season for Carl Junction.

She is committed to play next season at Drury, and after her senior season was cut short, she’s ready to get started with the Panthers.

“I’m super excited,” Scott says of joining the Drury program, “They’re going to get the best out of me. To be able to go from one undefeated program to another is awesome. I’m excited for the opportunity.”

Scott is also on the All-COC defensive team.

Below is the complete All-COC girls basketball team.

1st team

Katie Scott (Carl Junction)

Shila Winder (Carl Junction)

Priscilla Williams (Branson)

Megan Mahan (Willard)

Madi Braden (Ozark)

Ali Kamies (Nixa)

Kaemyn Bekemeier (Republic)

2nd team

Jaydee Duda (Webb City)

Hailey Fullerton (Carthage)

Anna Hitt (Ozark)

Jada Holloman (Willard)

Gabby Nielsen (Nixa)

Jazzy Kirby (Republic)

Honorable Mention

Destiny Buerge (Carl Junction)

Olivia Hixson (Neosho)

Olivia Hanks (Ozark)

Brielle Adamson (Willard)

Katie Mayes (Ozark)

Defensive Team

Katie Scott (Carl Junction)

Madi Braden (Ozark)

Delaney Smith (Republic)

Jada Holloman (Willard)

Katie Kamies (Nixa)