All-MIAA Volleyball Teams announced

Pittsburg State claims MIAA Touranment title

Press Release MIAA:

MIAA co-champions Central Missouri and Nebraska-Kearney got three and two players respectively on the All-Conference teams released today. Washburn also placed three members on the MIAA’s first team.

The MIAA Player of the Year is Central Oklahoma’s Barbara Jackson who leads the MIAA in killers per set with 4.25 on the season. Joining her at the outside hitter position the first team are Central Missouri’s Carly Sojka, Washburn’s Marissa Cox and Leanna Willer. Carly Spicer of Emporia State is on the team joined by Missouri Western’s Erica Rottinghaus and Jessie Thorup.

In the middle are Central Missouri’s Haley Thompson, Washburn’s Sarah Victory and Madison Mosier of Pittsburg State.

Three setters will handle the passing on the first team as Jordan Chohon of Missouri Western joins Erin Seele of Nebraska-Kearney and Katy Davis of Central Oklahoma. The team also features two libero’s in Annie Reilly of Central Missouri and Liz McGowan of Nebraska-Kearney.

LaRose Currie an outside hitter from Nebraska-Kearney has been named the Freshman of the Year with Central Oklahoma’s Edgar Miraku earning Coach of the Year honors.

Player of the Year: Barbara Jackson, Central Oklahoma
Freshman of the Year: LaRose Currie, OH, Nebraska-Kearney
Coach of the Year: Edgar Miraku, Central Oklahoma

First Team
Outside Hitter: Carly Sojka, Central Missouri^
Outside Hitter: Barbara Jackson, Central Oklahoma^
Outside Hitter: Marissa Cox, Washburn
Outside Hitter: Erica Rottinghaus, Missouri Western
Outside Hitter: Carly Spicer, Emporia State
Outside Hitter: Leanna Willer, Washburn
Outside Hitter: Jessie Thorup, Missouri Western
Middle Blocker: Haley Thompson, Central Missouri
Middle Blocker: Sarah Vicory, Washburn
Middle Blocker: Madison Mosier, Pittsburg State
Setter: Jordan Chohon, Missouri Western
Setter: Erin Seele, Nebraska-Kearney
Setter: Katy Davis, Central Oklahoma
Libero: Annie Reilly, Central Missouri^
Libero: Liz McGowan, Nebraska-Kearney
One extra player due to tie in the voting
^=Unanimous selection

Second Team
Outside Hitter: Katie Politte, Missouri Southern
Outside Hitter: LaRose Currie, Nebraska-Kearney
Outside Hitter: Mallory Flagor, Fort Hays State
Outside Hitter: Kelle Carver, Nebraska-Kearney
Outside Hitter: Miranda Foster, Northwest Missouri
Middle Blocker: Juliette Smith, Central Oklahoma
Middle Blocker: Courtney Haring, Emporia State
Middle Blocker: Callie Whetstone, Missouri Southern
Middle Blocker: Bailey Sokolowski, Nebraska-Kearney
Middle Blocker: Allison Barr, Central Oklahoma
Setter: Kourtney Thompson, Central Missouri
Setter: Natalie Bates, Washburn
Libero: Whitney Gifford, Central Oklahoma
Libero: Sarah Faubel, Missouri Western

Honorable Mention

Central Missouri: Shelby Winkelman, OH; Becca Blaise, OH; Maddie Jones, MB.
Central Oklahoma: Sabetha Young, OH; Bonnie Vernon, OH.
Emporia State: Katie Deutschmann, OH; Josie Williams, OH; Shayla Cotman, MB; Kimberly Bell, S; Sydney Hartman, S.
Fort Hays State: Keanu Bradley, L.
Lindenwood: Shannon Doyle, OH; Kayla Guyot, MB.
Missouri Western: Kelsey Olion, OH; Amanda Boender, MB.
Nebraska-Kearney: Tara Zieglebein, MB.
Northwest Missouri: Jackie Becker, MB; Sarah Dannettell, S; Bailey Vance, L.
Pittsburg State: Ary Crittleton, OH; Haylee Gregory, OH; Paula Okruntna, MB; Hayley Hansford, S; Ashlen Schwartz, L.
Southwest Baptist: Taryn Marton, OH; Kalyn Sotomayor, MB; Hannah Blount, L.
Washburn: Alyssa Carney, L.